top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejodiethezoologist

Redwings Make the Most of Unused Tooting Bec Athletics Track

For a few months now on my daily walks, I have noticed multiple little moving birds at the centre of Tooting Bec Athletics Track. They are a light brown colour, and there have been almost a hundred of them at points! I spent many weeks trying to identify them. The naked eye was no use and my phone camera was not good enough quality for me to make an accurate identification. It was only until I had my camera and its zoom lens with me, that I tried to properly identify these birds.


At first I thought they may be fieldfares; birds that (clue is in the name) are often found in fields and open patches of green space. In winter, they have been said to especially like playing fields and grass fields, just like at the athletics track. They are mainly brown and have a slightly lighter underside, as these birds do.


Upon further reflection, I realised these birds have an eye stripe of a much paler colour, almost cream. As I zoomed further and further into the images I had taken, I spotted the defining feature of this species- a red coloured patch of feathers, just under its wing area.


A Redwing! These birds are part of the thrush family, and are the smallest thrush species. They feed on berries and worms, and love open fields as well as hedges.


Before lockdown, I had never seen so many birds congregate at the athletics track. I assume that because the area has been so undisturbed and untouched for so long, the birds decided to make great use of the muddy, worm filled field that is there!


Unfortunately Redwings are on the red list for birds of conservation concern, and their breeding pairs as well as population numbers have drastically fallen in recent years. One big thing that we can do as local residents to protect these birds is to really leave them alone! They are quite a shy species that often flee when they notice humans approaching. Admire them from a distance- with a good pair of binoculars!


It is great to see how this species has been thriving in our local area during the pandemic. I hope that as we return to normal, their populations remain.


I’d love to know if anyone else has spotted them in the area! Feel free to comment below to share your experience.



41 views4 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page